Thank you for joining Abuja Nalafem Summit

The Inaugural Nalafem Summit held in Abuja on July 1st commemorated our first year anniversary. We were joined by world feminist leaders to not only celebrate but honor our commitment to young Nigerian women’s activism to  end sexual and gender-based violence.

150 participants from 15 countries and 20 states in Nigeria joined us including  25 speakers in politics and activism: Aisha Yesufu, Maryam Bukar Hassan, Amb.Fatima Mohammed, His Royal Highness Sanusi Lamido Sanusi,  Catherine Chinedum Aniagolu-Okoye, Olivier Chatelais, Ahunna Eziakonwa, Dame Pauline K. Tallen OFR. KSG,  Anne Githuku-Shongwe, Owen Omogiafo,  Dr. Ameenah Gurib-Fakim, Dr. Natalia Kanem, Beatrice Eyong, H.E Mary Robinson, Dr. Djibril Diallo, Martha Muhwezi, Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi, Karimot Odebode, Pramila Patten, Sima Bahous, Bineta Diop, Rose Wachuka Macharia, Jaha Dukureh, Oluwaseun Ayodeji Osowobi, Natasha Wang Mwansa, and Jayathma Wickramanayake. 

We hosted firechats, intergenerational panels, and keynotes and got to know and feel what  #IamNala is about.

Young Women in Political leadership to bridge Policy & Implementation


  • Ms. Jaha Dukureh Founder of Safe Hands For Girls & Nala Council Member
  • Ms. Rose Wachuka Macharia Chief of Staff, Office of the Chief Justice & President of the Supreme Court of Kenya & Nala Council Member
  • Mme. Martha Muhwezi Executive Director, Forum for African Women Educationalists
  • Ms. Rosebell Kagumire Huma n Rights Defender, Feminist Writer & Nala Council Member 

Moderator: Mr. Samson Itodo, Executive Director, Yiaga Africa

Young Women in Activism to End Sexual and Gender Based Violence


  • Ms. Natasha Wang Mwansa Activist & Nala Council Member
  • Ms. Oluwaseun Ayodeji Osowobi Founder of Stand to End Rape Initiative & Nala Council Member
  • Dr. Djibril Diallo, President and CEO, African Renaissance and Diaspora Network

Moderator: Ms. Olufunke Baruwa, Ford Foundation


We celebrated five inspiring individuals & organizations whose work disrupts the status quo. Girls Excel and Document Women received 3000$ grants each to advance their work with young women. We recognized TechHer,  YouthHubAfrica and Verlaine Diane Soobroydoo, with trophies as appreciation for their leadership in the space of gender advocacy. 

Funded by

Hosted by Federal Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development of Nigeria

Scroll to Top